.

New Law Regulates Second Hand Stores in Kent

Kent City Council approves new rules for businesses that buy and sell goods; mandates yearly $200 license fee

Stores that buy and sell second-hand merchandise in Kent must now buy a license to do business.

approved a new law this week that regulates "second-hand dealers" or stores that deal mostly in used goods such as or .

Aside from the yearly $200 license fee, the law requires businesses hold goods they buy from someone for 30 days before reselling them. The rules apply only to brick-and-mortar businesses and not people selling only online out of their home or other location.

Kent Law Director Jim Silver said the holding period is meant to give police a chance to try and track down stolen merchandise that may have been sold to a business.

"We have people in Kent that buy gold and jewelry and all that stuff, and stolen items are turning up," he said. "And the dealers have no record of who sold it to them."

The new regulations also require businesses to keep records of all their transactions in second-hand articles, and those records must then be filed weekly with the Kent Police Department.

Council unanimously approved the new regulations Wednesday. The full text of the new ordinance is attached to this article as a .pdf file.

The regulations are fairly commonly adopted for pawn shops and other similar businesses in communities across Ohio, Silver said.

"I think as times get harder this becomes more and more of an issue," he said.

Laurel Myers Hurst November 18, 2011 at 02:01 PM
Stores must file their records with police? Doesn't that mean that every person who sells something to a second hand store is presumed guilty? The police cannot collect evidence for a crime that they don't know has been committed. I am totally opposed to this infringement on business and privacy. Keeping good internal records on high ticket items seems like good business practice, but how can a store stay in business if it is REQUIRED BY LAW to pay for the goods and then hold them 30 days before reselling them.
amydiehl November 18, 2011 at 02:23 PM
Lame. More government rules intended to help whom? Who is paying to make sure all this gets done, and will the projected gains really be worth the burden this places on small businesses? More dumb government.
Amber Rae Legion November 18, 2011 at 02:50 PM
I agree completely with Laurel Myers Hurst and Michelle Sahr. Not a very well thought out Kent City Council decision.
Linda UmBayemake December 14, 2011 at 06:23 AM
Einstein's Attic has things people can afford. Plus it does not smell, it is not falling apart and the owners are nice people. I don't understand this new regulation. They are already licensed to do busy in Kent and the state of Ohio. Charging them $200.00 appears like a penalty for being a small business owner. I presume the ReStore has to pay $200.00 even though they are helping people get housing but they still sell second hand items. Who is next on the list of regulation garage sales, maybe the lemon stands that were out last summer. Over penalization will cause some business' to leave Kent or is that what you are trying to do. If anything Einstein's Attic and other business' that are already here should have a Grandfather's clause that does not require them to pay this regulation tariff.
Jon Ridinger December 14, 2011 at 06:39 AM
I totally see your point, but a lot of things have to be done that make it look like we presume someone is (or could be) guilty. It's because enough people have abused the system. Think of entering the airport or even the Quicken Loans Arena via metal detectors (and now those body scanners at the airport) or submitting to drug tests and/or background checks for employment. It's not because people think you have a weapon, have used drugs, or committed a crime, but enough people have done so (and probably lied about it or simply didn't say anything) that they have to check everyone. The key, though, is making this not so burdensome on small businesses while still having a system in place that can help prevent sales of stolen goods. What does the yearly $200 fee cover? Why is it necessary? Could it be lower or eliminated all together?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »