Kent Election Results 2012

Updates on the 2012 local elections will be posted here throughout the day. Connect with us on Twitter too at #PatchElections.

With no Kent-specific local offices up for election today the big decision for voters this Election Day was Issue 11, a 0.25 percent income tax increase that would have paid for a new, $18 million police station for the Kent Police Department.

Tuesday voters said "No" to the tax increase and voted it down by a count of 4,240 votes for the increase and 5,163 against, according to final but unofficial results from the Portage County Board of Elections.

If approved, the income tax increase would have taken Kent's tax rate from 2 percent to 2.25 percent.

There were two major local offices on the ballot, and those were the two seats up for grabs on the three-seat Portage County Board of Commissioners.

Democrat incumbent Maureen Frederick defeated Republican challenger Bridget Pavlick with 60 percent of the vote, according to the board of elections.

And Kent Democrat Kathleen Chandler won the second open seat on the county commissioners by defeating Republican Larry Solak with 56 percent of the vote, according to the elections board.

Add to that the fact Democrat incumbent Kathleen Clyde won the race for Ohio House District 75, and voters in Kent and Portage County appeared to favor Democrats this November.

Stay with Patch as we'll follow-up on these stories with more local election coverage.

Connect with us on Facebook and Twitter too!


Issue 11 (0.25 percent income tax increase) For Against Results
4,240 5,163

     Race       Democratic Candidates Results* Republican Candidates Results* Ohio House 75

Kathleen Clyde

29,631 Nick Skeriotis

Portage County Commissioner

Maureen Frederick

Bridget Pavlick

Portage County Commissioner

Kathleen Chandler

Lary Solak

Michael Muldowney

Portage County Recorder
Bonnie Howe
Kevin Fowler

Ohio Senate 18
Jim Mueller
John J. Eklund

Portage County Sheriff David Doak (uncontested) 53,662 Portage County Prosecutor Victor V. Vigluicci (uncontested) 49,894 Portage County Treasurer Vicki A. Kline (uncontested) 50,665 Portage County Engineer Michael A. Marozzi (uncontested) 49,639 Portage County Coroner Roger G. Marcial (uncontested) 50,475

*Results are according to final but unofficial numbers from the Portage County Board of Elections.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »